Breathe Love blog

Introduction to colour therapy

By January 15, 2021April 2nd, 2021No Comments

Colour therapy or chromotherapy focuses on colours, tones and shades to support health and wellbeing. Studies show that colours can directly impact our moods; each colour has its own light wavelength and can transform the way we think, feel, and perceive things. It is used as a complementary therapy to alleviate symptoms related to depression, stress, seasonal affective disorder and much more.

The Breathe Love brand and platform is inspired by the vibration of colour and how it interacts with our internal and external world. Our senses are gateways that can help offer balance, nourishment, and healing. We absorb colour through the eyes, skin and skull, and electromagnetic field and aura, giving us physical, emotional, mental, spiritual, and sensory experience. Colour invites harmony versus discord.

In Indian philosophy, the seven main chakras located in the body and connected to the mind, body and soul are spinning wheels of energy. They have the loving responsibility of taking in, incorporating and emanating energy to keep us functioning at optimal levels.

Each chakra has a corresponding colour:

The root chakra, Muladhara in Sanskrit, is located at the base of the spine. It is represented by red colour, which can help us feel grounded, centred in the physical body, secure and connected to Mother Earth.

The Sacral Chakra, Svadishthana in Sanskrit, located about 3 inches below the navel, is represented by orange colour and linked to the reproductive system, kidneys, adrenals, creativity, movement and pleasure.

The solar plexus chakra, Manipura in Sanskrit, based at the soft area below the breast bone, is associated with the colour yellow and linked to the liver, pancreas, digestive system, gallbladder, empowerment, personal power and wellbeing.

The heart chakra, Anahata in Sanskrit, is located at the centre of the chest and is associated with the colour green and linked with the heart, lungs and immune system, intuitive intelligence, the nervous system, focus, compassion and empowerment.

The throat chakra, Vishuddha in Sanskrit, is located at the throat and is associated with thyroid and metabolism, freeing self-expression and expression.

THIRD EYE – Indigo
The third eye chakra, Ajna in Sanskrit, is located between the eyebrows and is associated with the pituitary gland and pineal gland. It is home to our intuition, bringing clarity, insight and understanding. It is also connected to our sleep cycle, clarity, wisdom, self-esteem and intuition.

The crown chakra, Sahastrara in Sanskrit, is associated with the Crown Chakra and is located at the top of the head related to clarity, dreams, spirituality, sleep cycles and the pineal gland.

For ten minutes each day, spend time in meditation, close your eyes, take a few deep breaths visualising one or all of the above colours in their specific chakra location.

Try this practice for one month and note in a journal thoughts, feelings and any information that may arise from the experience(s).

Colour theory test
Based on the work of Dr. Max Lûscher try this colour therapy quiz

How to use colour to support everyday life.
Introduce your favourite colours into your life. When choosing a colour, trust your intuition and how it makes you feel. Incorporate your desired colours in your home, decor, furniture, clothes and food.

Maybe choose a colour a day to support your mood; for example, the colour green is balancing and calming; it may soothe the heart space and encourage nature’s healing magic.

“Mere colour, unspoiled by meaning, and unallied with definite form, can speak to the soul in a thousand different ways”. Oscar Wilde